Mobile County Criminal Law Attorney

Search
Stopped for DUI in Alabama

What should I know about having more than one DUI offense?

When you are convicted of driving under the influence of alcohol in Alabama, you will be subject to a number of consequences that will have serious impacts on your future. These penalties only get even more severe when you have multiple charges on your record. You may ruin your future not only because of the various fines and jail time that you are subject to, but the types of jobs that you can get may also be limited. It doesn’t look good to a potential employer to have any DUI charges in your name and you may also not be eligible for jobs that require you to drive. In addition, you may have a license suspension for a long time and will have to rely on other means of transportation to get yourself to work every day in the event that you are hired.

If you already have been convicted for driving under the influence once in Alabama, you know that there are serious negative consequences. If you are convicted for a second time, it only gets more severe. You will be required to serve a minimum of 48 consecutive hours of jail time and you may actually be sentenced to up to one year in jail. In addition, you will lose your driver’s license for a year. Second DUI offenders will be required to pay a fine of anywhere from a minimum of $1,000 to $5,000. In addition, there is another $100 fee that will be contributed to the Impaired Drivers Trust Fund. You may also be subject to at least 20 days of community service, depending on what the judge rules.

For people with a third DUI conviction within a five-year time period, they are subject to even further penalties. These include a mandatory 60-day imprisonment period up to 1 year in jail. In addition, the mandatory fine is raised to a range of $2,000-$10,000 as well as another $100 fee to the IDTF.

If you are on your fourth or higher conviction within the last five years, you are facing a Class C Felony. You will be subject to imprisonment for 1-10 years, a license revocation for five years and also a hefty fine between $4,000 and $10,000.

If you have been charged with a crime and need an experienced criminal defense attorney in Mobile and the surrounding areas, please contact the attorneys at Darley Law, LLC.

 

Tell Us About Your Case