Mobile County Criminal Law Attorney


What is an ignition interlock device?

When you are charged with a driving while intoxicated, you will face severe consequences that can follow for years down the road. You may be subject to jail time, fines, and license suspension. Another possible repercussion that the court may order you is that you may have to install an ignition interlock device.

An ignition interlock device is installed in your car in order to prevent a person who has been convicted of a driving while intoxicated charge. There are many potential qualifications for being ordered to install an ignition interlock device. First time driving under the influence offenders are required to install an IID if they are found to have a blood alcohol content of .15 percent or over. If you were pulled over for a DUI and you were found to have a 14-year-old child or younger in your car or if you caused an accident and injured someone as a result of your choice to drive drunk you will also be required to install an ignition interlock device. Finally, if you have already been convicted of a DUI or you refuse to take a chemical breath test, you will be required to install this device.

Alabama DUI Laws

Alabama has the dubious distinction of ranking fifth in the nation for alcohol-related fatalities. In 2016, 279 people died from crashes where the driver was DUI.

Imposing an IID has been shown to dramatically reduce the number of alcohol-related traffic accidents, so in July 2018, Alabama lawmakers initiated a new DUI law. It requires stiffer penalties if a driver wants to continue driving, including installing an ignition interlock device.

You will be held responsible for purchasing the ignition interlock device yourself from a registered IID device manufacturer that has been approved by the state. These devices can be expensive to purchase, install, maintain, and remove from your car and you will have to cover these costs yourself. Getting a DUI can cost you hundreds or even thousands of dollars by the time you have completed all of the requirements.

Upon receiving a driving under the influence charge, you will need to contact a criminal defense attorney who has a lot of experience in handling DUI matters and can attempt to reduce your sentence, fines, or amount of time you are required to have an ignition interlock device.
If you have been charged with a crime and need an experienced criminal defense attorney in Mobile and the surrounding areas, please contact the attorneys at Darley Law, LLC.

Tell Us About Your Case