Experienced Drug Defense Lawyer in Mobile, AL
Defending Mobile County clients against drug chargesMany drug-related crimes carry extremely heavy jail sentences and fines. If you are ever convicted of a drug crime within the state of Alabama, that conviction will stay on your record for the rest of your life and could affect your ability to get a job, a loan, or even an apartment. For this reason, any time you’re facing drug crime charges or have been arrested for drug offenses, it’s important that you take the time to consult with a drug crime defense lawyer who can give you a better understanding of the charges you are facing, your constitutional rights, and your legal options. Contact Darley Law, LLC for a consultation.
Drug Laws in AlabamaAlabama laws are based on the scheduling of controlled dangerous substances. CDS’s are divided by their degree of dangerousness. Schedule I drugs are considered the most dangerous and highly addictive substances with no acceptable medical use, per state law. Schedule V drugs are considered to have a low risk of danger and abuse and have acceptable medical uses. Even so, illegal possession of a Schedule V drug comes with serious consequences. According to Alabama drug laws, marijuana is a Schedule I drug and possession or sale comes with serious penalties and will impact your life and livelihood.
Possession of MarijuanaIf you are caught with any amount of marijuana in your possession that constitutes personal use, you will be charged with a Class A misdemeanor and face 1 year of jail time and a maximum fine of $6,000. A conviction for marijuana possession in Alabama could subject you to a license suspension for 6 months. If you are charged with the possession of marijuana with an amount that constitutes intent to sell, you will be charged with a felony. You are facing anywhere from at least 366 days all the way up to 10 years of jail time. In addition, there is a maximum fine of $15,000 associated with this charge.
Sale of MarijuanaAlabama’s drug laws are very strict. If you are found selling marijuana of any amount, you are facing felony charges and a mandatory minimum sentence of between two and twenty years of incarceration. You will also face a fine of a maximum of $30,000. These charges only increase in severity if a person over the age of 18 sells to a minor. In that situation, your felony charge may also land you a life sentence in jail and a maximum fine of $60,000.
Contact Darley Law, LLCIf you’ve been charged with a drug offense, contact Darley Law, LLC to discuss your case with an understanding defense attorney. Depending on the circumstances of your situation, Darley Law, LLC may be able to help you obtain a favorable plea deal, help you prove your innocence or even get the charges against you dropped completely. The key is to act quickly. Call Darley Law, LLC for a consultation.
Contact Us Today
Our firm has the skill to guide you through uncertain times. We are here to help. No legal matter is too small and every client is significant. With 24/7 attention, appointment flexibility, weekend hours and a free initial consultation,
Darley Law is committed to making sure you get quality legal support from a passionate, seasoned legal professional. Don’t wait a moment longer, call today.
7 North Lawrence Street
Mobile, AL 36602
Phone: (251) 441-7772